Dakota Clinic & Dakota (Heartland) Hospital

Dakota Clinic.

Dakota Clinic opened in 1925 or 1926 at 700 First Avenue South. It was founded by five physicians: Dr. Kent Darrow (son of Dr. E. M. Darrow); Dr. Frank Darrow (son of Dr. E.M. Darrow); Dr. R. E. Weible (married to Mary, daughter of Dr. E. M. Darrow); Dr. P. H. Burton (married to the sister of Mrs. Kent Darrow); and Dr. William H. Long of Dickinson (no relation to the Darrows!).

In 1957, the Dakota Clinic group built a new building located at 1702 University Drive South (see picture top right).

Dakota Hospital.

A few years later, the Dakota Clinic group constructed Dakota Hospital, located on Fargo's south side at 1720 South University Drive (see center picture). It opened on November 2, 1964 with 120 beds.

In November 1994, Dakota Hospital merged with Heartland Medical Center to become Dakota Heartland Hospital.

Dakota Hospital.

To the bottom right, one can see the Dakota Heartland complex. The original Dakota Hospital is in the center. The original Dakota Clinic is on the far left. Additions can be seen behind the Dakota Clinic and on the far right.

On Febrary 1, 2002, Dakota Heartland Hospital was acquired for $33 million by Meritcare (owned by Clarent Corp. of Houston).