Fargo in 1876.

Cass County was organized in 1873, with Fargo designated as the county seat. However, Fargo was not officially organized for two years. On January 5, 1875, the Dakota Legislature enacted "An Act to Incorporate the City of Fargo." The city's first election was held on April 5, 1875, with 137 voters. George Egbert was chosen mayor and six aldermen were elected. They first met as the city government April 12, 1875.

The image to the right was taken from the Headquarters Hotel looking southwest, showing the Cass County courthouse building, Gethsemane Episcopal Church and several dwellings.

The photograph was taken by F. J. Haynes in 1876.