German-Russian Commemorative Days

Russlanddeutsche Gedenktage

Eisfeld, Alfred. "German-Russian Commemortaive Days." Volk auf dem Weg, January 2008, 46.

Translation from German to English by Alex Herzog

During the Year 2008

1808: Founding of the colonies of Kandel, Selz and Strassburg in the Kutschurgan region (200 years).

1818: Founding of the colonies in Georgia (190 years).

February 24 - 28, 1918: Warenburg Conference of German representatives from the agricultural administrations of the Nevouzensk, Nikolayevsk, Kamyshin, Atkarsk and Saratov districts (90 years).

June 30, 1918: First Soviet Congress of the Volga-German colonies (90 years).

October 19, 1918: Decree by the Council of People's Commissars of Russia concerning the establishment of the Autonomous Region of Volga-Germans (90 years).

November 5, 1938: Liquidation of the German Rayon on the Altai region (70 years).

November 26, 1948: Decree by the Supreme Soviet on the legal punishment for leaving the places of special settlement without authorization.

During the Year 2009

1809: Founding of the Baden colonies in the Kutschurgan district; of Glueckstal, Neudorf, and Bergdorf in the Gleuckstal area; of Landau, Speyer and Rophrbach in the Beresan region and of Waldorf on the Molotchna (200 years).

January 9, 1974: Decree by the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR concerning the lifting of restrictions for deported people in choosing their place of residence (35 years).

February 19, 1919: Founding of the Association of Mennonites of South Russia (90 years).

March, 1939: Liquidation of the German Rayon in Ukraine (80 years).

June 20, 1789: Johann Cornies' 220th birthday.

July 20, 1919: Uprising in Grossliebental, Kleinliebental, Selz and Worms (90 years).

November 29, 1919: Attack raid on the colonies on the Molotschna; massacre in Sagradovka results in 214 victims (90 years).

November, 1929: 14,000 German-Russian farmers attempt to leave the USSR via Moscow to emigrate overseas (80 years).

During the Year 2010

1810: Founding of the colonies of Mannheim and Elsass in the Kutschurgan region; of Kassel in the Glueckstal area; of Worms, Sulz, Karlsruhe, Rasatt and Muenchen in the Beresan region; of Durlach, Gruental, Heidelberg, Hochstaett, Kostheim, Leitershausen and Reichenfeld on the Molotshna; as well as Kronental on Crimea (200 years).

December 13, 1955: Decree concerning the lifting of "special settlements" status (55 years).

Our appreciation is extended to Alex Herzog for translation of this article.

Permission to use any images from the GRHC website may be requested by contacting Michael M. Miller