Church Book XIV: Evangelical Lutheran St. Jakobus Gemeinde 1886-1955

Compiled by Orion A. Rudolph

German script translated by Dorothea (Bergstedt) Ziegler

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection, North Dakota State University Libraries, Fargo, North Dakota, 2010, 130 pages, CD.

Church Book XIV: Evangelical Lutheran St. Jakobus Gemeinde (St. James Congregation) 1886-1955 is a translation of the original church Record book from the St. Jakobus Church. The German script was translated by Dorothea (Bergstedt) Ziegler – Dickinson, ND and typed by Orion A. Rudolph – Ashley, ND.

The St. Jakobus (St. James Congregation) Church is one of seventeen Evangelical Lutheran Congregations churches in McIntosh County, North Dakota. These rural congregations are now associated with Zion Lutheran Church, Ashley.

The St. Jakobus Gemeinde (St. James Congregation) church book contains baptismal registers, meeting minutes, communion registers, death registers, offerings, member registers, marriages, and burials. As a special enhancement for the book, Rudolph photographed all the tombstones at St. James Cemetery. Rudolph also compiled all dates and had the inscriptions translated.

Orion A. Rudolph writes, “It was in the year 2001 when my interest was triggered in the old Hoffnungs Church record book. My wife and I were called one evening by a church centennial committee person and asked if we could possibly write a paragraph of the Hoffnungs (Hope) Lutheran Church, its beginning and ending for the 2003 Zion Lutheran Centennial Book. Also that my wife’s name is listed in it as being the last one baptized there before the church closed. We thought that might be a nice thing to do. Upon looking through the old book, we both knew it was next to impossible to write anything. It was at least 90% in the old German script. A problem indeed was at hand. It took us several months to find someone to write the paragraph that was requested.”

After completion of the first book, “Hoffnungs Church Book,” Dorothea said, “I enjoyed this, let’s do another book, I’ll help you.” So with this encouragement to continue, this “St. Jakobus Gemeinde Lutheran Church Book” also is now translated.

"Members when the church was dedicated in 1926 were: Christof Retzer, George G. Klipfel, Gottlieb C. Nitschke, Jacob Kirschmann, John Wahl, Jacob Klipfel, John Maertz, John Kempf, Gottlieb J. Nitschke, Ludwig Thurn, Mattheis Kempf, Christian Hildenbrand, Christian Sperle, Otto J. Walz, Gottlieb Haerter, Fred Wahl Jr., Gottfried Herman, Gottfried Roeszler, John Walz, Gottlieb Walz, Gottlieb Kempf, Gottlob Sperle, John Taschendorf, Christof Nitschke, John Haerter, August Thurn, Fred J. Klipfel, Heinrich Babitzke, Solomon Wahl, Edward Nitschke, John Herman and Thomas Maertz."

Church Book XIV: Evangelical Lutheran
St. Jakobus Gemeinde 1886-1955

$15 CD plus Shipping & Handling

Click here to order online

Download Order Form

Permission to use any images from the GRHC website may be requested by contacting Michael M. Miller