Main Library

Tue7:30 am - 5:00 pm
Open

Reference Desk

Tue10:00 am - 7:00 pm *
Open

Digital Fabrication Lab

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

NDSU Archives

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Business Learning Center

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

P. N. Haakenson Health Sciences Library

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health Library

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

NDSU Main Library is open, but other NDSU Libraries remain closed.  We will continue to provide services to our students, faculty, and staff. Click here for more information.

Home Research Guides English 325

English 325


Community Profile

Helpful Resources

Health Disparities Resources from Medline Plus
Page of links to various high-quality resources regarding the health disparities that currently and historically affect populations, such as women, LGBTQ folks, and people of color.

US Department of Health & Human Services - Minority Health Profiles
Gives concise overviews of minority populations' health, as well as links to health data for each of the populations.

Pocket Guide to Culturally Sensitive Health Care
Ebook that covers the healthcare needs, as well as cultural customs, of a variety of people that use United States health care services. Ebook can only be used by one person at a time--come back later if you are unable to access right away.

Search for NDSU Library Books
The NDSU Libraries have many books on the health of different cultural groups in the United States. Find books on your community by searching for you community + health (or particular health concern). For example:​ syrian refugees AND health or syrian refugees AND post-traumatic stress disorder

PubMed
PubMed includes a large number of articles regarding health and health needs of specific communities--check out the "search tips" for help finding them.

Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts includes articles regarding specific population groups, particularly under-privileged communities.

America: History and Life
Includes literature about the history and culture of the United States. Include keywords in your search like "health" to find information on historic disparities.

Search Tips

When you start looking for information for your community profile, try the Medline Plus, US Dept of Health and Human Services or CDC Minority Health links to begin. These should help give you a broad idea of what kind of health issues your community faces and narrow your search when you use a database like PubMed.

PubMed

Try searching using keywords that include your population and some of the known health issues that affect that population. Also give some of these MeSH terms a try:

  • Health Literacy
  • Health Disparities
  • Health Status Disparities
  • Healthcare Disparities
  • Minority Health
  • Health Knowledge, Attitudes, Practice
  • Health Services Accessibility
  • Health Care Access

Sociological Abstracts and America: History and Life

You can search these databases using similar keywords as used in PubMed; the articles you find here will approach the subject from more of a social sciences/history perspective rather than a health sciences perspective.

In both all of the databases, you can try getting more specific with your population--try searching for "Hmong" instead of the general "Asian-Americans," for example.


Policy Analysis

MOMMIES Act

Reading legislation is a lot different from the usual articles we are used to reading. Check out the press release to get the gist of what you'll be looking at, give yourself time to read the text of the bill, take a look at this link for a little background on how legislation is drafted, and write down questions as they come up so you can dig into them further for better understanding.

Finding Additional Sources

Many of the sources listed above to help with the Community Profile assignment will help with the Policy Analysis too; additionally, depending on the vulnerable population you are using to frame your analysis, these databases may also be useful:

JSTOR 
JSTOR is a broad database covering the humantities and social sciences; peer-reviewed articles on many of the vulnerable populations may be found here.

Project MUSE
Another broad database of peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals, also good for information on most vulnerable populations.

Criminal Justic Abstracts with Full Text
If your vulnerable population involves individuals in the criminal justice system, this database may be useful.


Connect with the Health Sciences Library

Merete Christianson

Health Sciences Librarian

Contact Info

merete.christianson@ndsu.edu
Main Library 218B
701-231-7965

Find us at Sudro Hall:

Diana Kowalski, Health Sciences Library Associate
diana.kowalski@ndsu.edu
Sudro Hall 136
Monday-Friday, 1:00 PM – 4:30 PM
 

Find us at NDSU Nursing at Sanford in Bismarck:

Linnett Schmidkunz, Bismarck Health Sciences Library Associate
linnett.schmidkunz@ndsu.edu
Bismarck School of Nursing Lower Level
Monday-Friday, 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM