Main Library

Tue7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Closed

Reference Desk

Tue9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed

Digital Fabrication Lab

Tue12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Closed

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Tue7:30 am - 4:00 pm
Closed

NDSU Archives

Tue7:30 am - 4:00 pm
Closed

Business Learning Center

Tue7:30 am - 4:00 pm *
Closed

Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library

Tue12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Closed

P. N. Haakenson Health Sciences Library

Tue7:30 am - 4:00 pm
Closed

NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health Library

Tue8:00 am - 5:00 pm *
Closed
Home Research Guides Education - Graduate Programs

Education - Graduate Programs


Introduction

Hi, I am the subject librarian for the School of Education. I am available for research consultations and class visits to help you learn more about the Libraries ' resources and specialized research in education. The best way to contact me is via email at: beth.twomey@ndsu.edu . If you are local, we can set up a time to meet, and if you are a distance education student, we can arrange a time to talk on the phone or even Skype if you would like!

Below is a curated list of resources - it is not exhaustive but it is a very good place to start and I can help you if you are not finding what you need. Distance education students can find additional information just for them about interlibrary loan and troubleshooting access issues here: https://library.ndsu.edu/guides/services-distance-students

I look forward to hearing from you,

Beth Twomey

Head, Research and Instruction
RM 113
(701) 231-8141

 


Find Articles

Open Access Journals


Find Statistics/Data


Teaching and Pedagogy


Tests and Measurements

Test/Measurements in Databases

Terms to know:

  • Reliability: The extent to which a measurement is free from error. The result for a person who has not changed also doesn’t change when retested at different intervals, by different people, or in different situations.
  • Validity: the degree to which an instrument is measuring the thing it claims to measure. For example, does a test for student engagement actually measure that, or is it measuring something else, like extroversion or intelligence?

Many studies attach full-text of their testing instruments as an appendix to their final document. These can often be found through database searches. Do note that many measurement tools are protected by copyright. If planning to use a tool for research or practice, you may need to get copyright permission or pay for a license. Talk to your librarian for further information.

Try searching for your topic AND your instrument

Example: test anxiety AND ("oral interview" OR questionnaire)

Tests/Measurements in Books

Tests in Print
Author: 
Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
Call Number: 
LB3051 .T47
isbn: 
0361025X
In the reference collection on the 1st floor
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Author: 
Janet Carlson (Editor); Robert A. Spies (Editor); Barbara S. Plake (Editor); Kurt F. Geisinger (Editor); Janet F. Carlson (Editor); Robert Spies (Editor); Barbara Plake (Editor); Kurt Geisinger (Editor)
Call Number: 
LB3051 .M47 2007
isbn: 
9780910674607
The most recent Mental Measurements Yearbook in the NDSU libraries is the seventeenth. We have many earlier copies all available in the reference collection on the 1st floor.
Tests
Author: 
Taddy Maddox
Call Number: 
BF176 .T43 2008
isbn: 
9781416403401
Located in library reference on the 1st floor.
Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures
Author: 
Goldman, Bert
Call Number: 
BF431 .G625
Located in library reference on the 1st floor
Test Critiques
Author: 
Daniel J. Keyser (Editor); Richard C. Sweetland (Editor)
Call Number: 
BF176 .T419 1984
isbn: 
0961128666
Located in the main library stacks on the 2nd floor
Last updated: 4/14/2019