Main Library

Wed7:30 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Reference Desk

Wed10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Closed

Digital Fabrication Lab

Wed12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Closed

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Wed8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

NDSU Archives

Wed8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

Business Learning Center

Wed7:45 am - 6:00 pm
Closed

Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library

Wed7:45 am - 7:00 pm
Closed

P. N. Haakenson Health Sciences Library

Wed8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health Library

Wed8:00 am - 5:00 pm *
Closed
Home Research Guides EndNote Online

EndNote Online


Home

EndNote Online is a web-based tool that allows you to save and organize information about sources needed for your research. You can:

  • Add and organize references in to groups
  • Share references with others
  • Create citations or reference lists directly from EndNote
  • Add in-text citations and build a reference list as you write in Word (for Windows and Mac)
  • Find journals to best fit your manuscript

To create an account, go to https://access.clarivate.com/login?app=endnote and click on Register. Remember to use your NDSU email address.


There are three versions of the EndNote tool.

  • EndNote Basic  is free to anyone and has limited features and citation styles.
  • EndNote Online is the version provided by NDSU Libraries. It has more citation styles and storage than EndNote Basic and is web-based (does not include a desktop version). *Requires that user your NDSU email when creating an account.*
  • EndNote X8 (or previous versions) is the most robust version and provides many more styles, features, and control over settings. It is a desktop client that can sync with an online account. Check the NDSU ITS page for more information.

See below for information on how to add and manage references, create reference lists, and use the plug-ins for Word. Some of these are also availabe on video on our YouTube playlist.


Adding References

Reference can be added to your EndNote Online library in four ways:

  • Directly from a database (only some databases provided this option, such as EBSCOhost, and Web of Science)
  • By uploading a file obtained from a database or search engine (e.g. Google Scholar, ProQuest databases, PubMed)
    • see below for common file types and import options
  • Manually through EndNote Online
  • Through the Capture Reference browser tool

Commonly Used Databases/Search Engines and EndNote Online Import Options

Source

File Extension

Import Option

Cambridge Companions Online

.enw

EndNote Import

EBSCOhost Databases

direct export

--

Google Scholar

.enw

EndNote Import

JSTOR

.ris

JSTOR

RefMan RIS

ProQuest

.ris

ProQuest

RefMan RIS

PubMed

.nbib

PubMed

ScienceDirect

.ris

ScienceDirect

RefMan RIS

Web of Science

direct export

--

We recommend signing in to your EndNote Online account before getting started.

*This method will send details about the sources you select, but it will NOT include the full-text of the item.


To send one reference to your EndNote Online library:

  1. Click the title of the source in the results list
  2. Click the Export button on the right
  3. Select Direct Export to EndNote Web and click the Save button
    • If you are not logged in to EndNote Online you will be asked to log in
  4. The informatoin has now been added to your EndNote Online Library

To send more than one at a time:

  1. From the results page, click the folder idon for each item you want to include
  2. Click on Folder in the upper-right corner
  3. Select the items you wish to send to EndNote
  4. Select Direct Export to EndNote Web
  5. Click Save
  6. It will ask you to log in to EndNote Online
  7. The items have now been added to your EndNote Online library.

  

To see this in action, check out our video on adding reference from EBSCOhost Databases.

We recommend signing in to your EndNote Online account before starting your search in Web of Science.

  1. From the search results page, click the box next to the articles you want to add to your EndNote Online library
  2. Click the Save to EndNote button at the top of the search results list.
    1. If you are not logged in to your EndNote Online account, it will ask you to login now.

  1. Choose how much information to incude and then click Send
  2. The selected records have now been added to your EndNote Online library
  3. The EndNote icon appears next to those you have saved to EndNote Online

  • Alternatively, you can save to your EndNote Online library from the details page of an item

To see this in action, check out our video on adding references from the Web of Science. (Note that Web of Science and EndNote will look a little different in the videos, but the steps are the same.)

Adding references from ProQuest databases to your EndNote Online library is not as direct as with EBSCO and Web of Science. You have to download a file first and then upload it to your EndNote Online library.

  1. Click the Save icon
  2. Click RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.)

  1. Choose what content to save (citation, abstract, etc.) and click Continue
  2. Save the file
  3. Open your EndNote Online account
    1. Click Collect and then Import References
    2. Click the Browse button and select the file you downloaded earlier (it will end in .ris)
    3. Under import options, select ProQuest.
      • If you use this database frequently, you can use the Select Favorites link to add ProQuest to a custom list.
    4. Choose a group to add the references to
    5. Click Import

To see this in action, check out our video on adding references from ProQuest. (Note that Web of Science and EndNote will look a little different in the videos, but the steps are the same.)

To add references from PubMed, you have to download a file first and then upload it to EndNote Online library.

  1. From the results page, select the item(s) you want to add
  2. Click Send to
  3. Select Citation manager
  4. Click Create File and save the file

  1. Open your EndNote Online account
    1. Click Collect and then Import References
    2. Click the Browse button and select the file you saved earlier from PubMed (it will end in .nbib)
    3. Under import options, select PubMed
    4. Choose a group to add the references to
    5. Click Import

To add references from Google Scholar, you have to download a file first and then upload it to EndNote Online library. This can only be done one at a time.

  1. Click Cite and then EndNote

  1. Save the file
  2. Open your EndNote Online account
    1. Click Collect and then Import References
    2. Click the Browse button and select the file you saved earlier from Google Scholar (it will end in .enw)
    3. Under import options, select EndNote Import
    4. Choose a group to add the reference to
    5. Click Import

To manually add a reference to your EndNote Online library:

  1. Open your EndNote Online account
  2. Click Collect and then New Reference
  3. Use the Reference Type drop-down to select the type of document you want to add

  1. Fill in the available fields.
    • Use the Attachments option to attach files such as the full-text PDF

  1. Expand the Groups section to add your new reference to a new or existing group in your EndNote Online library

  1. Click Save

To see this in action, check out our video on adding references manually. (Note that Web of Science and EndNote will look a little different in the videos, but the steps are the same.)


Managing References

Editing References

To edit a reference in your EndNote Online library:

  1. Click on the title of the referenc you want to edit
  2. Click inside the field you want to edit

  1. Make the changes you want to make
  2. Click outside the field to save the changes

To see this in action, check out our video on editing references. (Note that Web of Science and EndNote will look a little different in the videos, but the steps are the same.)

Creating Groups

You can organize your references in into groups. References can be in more than one group.

Create a group while manually adding references:

  • See the Manually Adding References for instructions on how to create a groupe when adding a reference manually.

 

Create a group later from My References:

  1. Go to Collect and then Import References
  2. Select the reference file to upload
  3. Select the import option
  4. From the to: drop-down menu, select New Group

  1. Click the Import button
  2. Name the new group and click OK

 

Create a group at any time

  1. Click Organize
  2. Click the New Group button
  3. Name the new group and click OK

OR

  1. Click My References
  2. Select the references you wish to group together
  3. Use the Add to group... drop-down to select New Group

  1. Name the new group and click OK

To see this in action, check out our video on creating groups. (Note that Web of Science and EndNote will look a little different in the videos, but the steps are the same.)

Renaming and Deleting Groups

You can manage your groups from Organize > Manage My Groups.

 


Cite & Write

Quick Reference List

Use your EndNote Online account to create a reference list (a.k.a. works cited or bibliography).

  1. Click Format
  2. Select the grup of references you want to cite
  3. Select the citation style (e.g. APA, MLA, Chicago...)
  4. Choose the file format (for Microsoft Word, use the RTF format)
  5. Choose your viewing option (save, email, preview & print)

To see this in action, check out our video on creating a reference list in Endnote Online. (Note that Web of Science and EndNote will look a little different in the videos, but the steps are the same.)

 

Cite While You Write

The Cite While You Write plug-in for Microsoft Word lets you insert in-text citations and build your reference list automatically while you type your documents in Word. To get started, go to Format and then  Cite While You Write™ Plug-In.

See this video on installing the Cite While You Write plug-in for Windows.


Collaborate

Sharing Groups

You can share your groups with other EndNote Online users.

  1. Go to Organize > Manage My Groups
  2. Click the Manage Sharing button

  1. Click Start sharing this group. (If you've shared this group before, this step will be skipped and you will be directed to the next page.)

  1. Enter the email addresses of those with whom you want to share the group
  2. Select the access level you want to allow
  3. Click Apply and then Close Window

Groups that are being shared will have an icon next to them on your homepage.

 


Help

At NDSU, please contact Nicole Juve for assistance with using EndNote Online or Cite While You Write

Videos on using EndNote Online/Basic

Videos on using Cite While You Write

 

Last updated: 1/24/2019