Main Library

Wed7:30 am - 5:00 pm
Open

Reference Desk

Wed10:00 am - 7:00 pm *
Open

Digital Fabrication Lab

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

NDSU Archives

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Business Learning Center

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

P. N. Haakenson Health Sciences Library

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health Library

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

NDSU Main Library is open, but other NDSU Libraries remain closed.  We will continue to provide services to our students, faculty, and staff. Click here for more information.

Home Research Guides Entomology

Entomology


Find Articles

Journals

Want to know if we have access to a journal electronically? Need to find the full text of an article? Check out our How to Find Journals page.

 

Selected Journals


Find Books

Use the library search to find print books, ebooks, and more. Use the Advanced Search and the search result filters to narrow your results by Material Type, Availability (print, online, Open Access), Year, Subject, and more.

Want some searching tips? Check out:

Most of the cereal and food science books are found in the QL and SB sections on the second floor of the main library.

Examples of what can be found in each section includes:

Invertebrates

  • Insects     QL461 – 599.82

Pests and Diseases in Plant Culture

  • Economic entomology     SB818 – 945
  • Garden pests and diseases     SB603.5
  • Individual or types of plants or trees     SB608
  • Individual and groups of insects, mites, etc.     SB945.A-Z
  • Inspection / Quarantine     SB979.5 – 985
  • Organic plant protection / Biological Control     SB974 – 978
  • Pest control and treatment of diseases / Plant protection     SB950 – 990.5
  • Pesticides     SB950.9 – 970.4
  • Plant pathology     SB621 – 795
  • Soil disinfection     SB973 – 973.5

Public Aspects of Medicine

  • Transmission of disease     RA639 – RA642  

Compendiums

Compendium of Bedding Plant Diseases and Pests
Author: 
Chase, A. R.; Daughtrey, M.; Cloyd, R. A.
Call Number: 
SB608.O7 C43 2018
Compendium of Beet Diseases and Pests
Author: 
Hanson, L. E & Hein, G.L.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608.B4 C56 2009)
Compendium of Blueberry, Cranberry, and Lingonberry Diseases and Pests
Author: 
Polashock, J. J.; Caruso, F. L.; Averill, A. L.; Schilder, A. C.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608.B45 C65 2017
Compendium of Chickpea and Lentil Diseases and Pests
Author: 
Chen, W.; Sharma, H. C.; Muehlbauer, F. J.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608.C455 C66 2011)
Compendium of Grape Diseases, Disorders, and Pests
Author: 
Wilcox, W. F.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608.G7 C385 2015)
Compendium of Onion and Garlic Diseases and Pests
Author: 
Schwartz, H. F.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608.O5 C65 2008)
Compendium of Pea Diseases and Pests
Author: 
Kraft, J. M. & Pfleger, F. L.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608.P25 C66 2001)
Compendium of Raspberry and Blackberry Diseases and Pests
Author: 
Martin, R. R.; Ellis, M. A.; Williamson, B.; Williams, R. N.
Call Number: 
SB608.R25 C73 2017
Compendium of Rose Diseases and Pests
Author: 
Horst, K. & Cloyd, R. A.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608.R8 H66 2007)
Compendium of Soybean Diseases and Pests
Author: 
Hartman, G. L. et al.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608.S7 C66 2015)
Compendium of Sunflower Diseases and Pests
Author: 
Harveson, R., Markell, S., Block, C., & Gulya, T. (Eds.)
Call Number: 
SB299.S9 C59 2016
isbn: 
9780890545072
Compendium of Sweetpotato Diseases, Pests, and Disorders
Author: 
Clark, C. A. et al.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608.S98 C53 2013)
Compendium of Tomato Diseases and Pests
Author: 
Jones, J. B. et al.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608.T75 C66 2014)
Compendium of Wheat Diseases and Pests
Author: 
Bockus, W. W.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608.W5 C66 2010)

Other Entomology Books

Aphids as Crop Pests (2nd ed., 2017)
Author: 
Van Emden, H. F., & Harrington, R. (Editors)
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB945.A5 A65 2017)
isbn: 
9781780647098
Added Fall 2017
Beneficial Insects (1st ed., 2019)
Author: 
Alford, D. V.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SF517 .A54 2019)
Chemical Lands: Pesticides, Aerial Spraying, and Health in North America’s Grasslands Since 1945
Author: 
Vail, D. D.
Call Number: 
Main Library New Books - 2nd Floor (SB952.8 .V355 2018)
Encyclopedia of Insects (2nd ed., 2009)
Author: 
Resh, V. H.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (QL462.3 .E483 2009)
Environmental Pest Management: Challenges for Agronomists, Ecologists, Economists, and Policymakers
Author: 
Coll, M.
Call Number: 
Main Library New Books - 2nd Floor (SB950 .E58 2017)
Handbook of Small Grain Insects
Author: 
Buntin, G. D.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608.G6 H36 2007)
Handbook of Turfgrass Insects (2nd ed., 2012)
Author: 
Brandenburg, R. L. & Freman, C. P.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608. T87 H36 2012)
Insect Behavior: From Mechanisms to Ecological and Evolutionary Consequences
Author: 
Cordoba-Aguilar, A; Gonzalez-Tokman, D.; Gonzalez-Snatoyo, I. (editors)
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (QL496 .I587 2018)
Insect Resistance Management: Biology, Economics, and Prediction
Author: 
Onstad, D. W. (editor)
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB590 .I572 2014)
Integrated Management of Insect Pests on Canola and Other Brassica Oilseed Crops
Author: 
Reddy, G. V. P. (editor)
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608.R2 I58 2017)
isbn: 
9781780648200
Added Fall 2017
Invasive Stink Bugs and Related Species (Pentatomoidea) : Biology, Higher Systematics, Semiochemistry, and Management
Author: 
McPherson, J.E. (ed.)
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (QL523.P5 I58 2018)
isbn: 
9781498715089
added spring 2018
Managing Turfgrass Pests (2nd ed., 2013)
Author: 
Watschke, T. L.; Dernoeden, P. H.; Shetlar, D. J.
Call Number: 
Main Library Stacks - 2nd Floor (SB608.T87 W37 2013)

Diversity and Evolution of Butterfly Wing Patterns: An Integrative Approach
Author: 
Sekimura, T.; Nijhout, H. F.
Call Number: 
online
Encyclopedia of Insects (2nd ed., 2009, Online)
Author: 
Resh, V. H. & Carde, R. T. (editors)
Call Number: 
online
Insect Hydrocarbons: Biology, Biochemistry, and Chemical Ecology
Author: 
Blomquist, G. J.; Bagneres, A.
Call Number: 
online
Insect Pathology (2nd ed., 2012)
Author: 
Vega, F. E.; Kaya, H. K.
Call Number: 
online