Main Library

Thu7:30 am - 12:00 am
Open

Reference Desk

Thu10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Open

Digital Fabrication Lab

Thu10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Open

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Thu8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Open

NDSU Archives

Thu8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Open

Business Learning Center

Thu8:00 am - 6:00 pm *
Open

Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library

Thu8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Open

P. N. Haakenson Health Sciences Library

Thu8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Open

NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health Library

Thu8:00 am - 5:00 pm *
Open
Home Research Guides Finding Government Information in the Library

Finding Government Information in the Library


Finding Government Information

Using Google

When searching Google use these terms with your search words for better results:

Site:.gov     Searches all .gov sites

If you know the agencey website, you can include part of the ura. Example" site:.cdc.gov

Site:.nd.gov Searches North Dakota sites

Using the library catalog

Use the Advanced Search option and select Government Documents

 

 

 


Finding materials in the library- how they are organized

Government Document Call Numbers (SuDoc)

    The Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification number begins with a capital letter or letters representing a government department or agency. (A - Agriculture Dept., C - Commerce Dept., ED - Education Dept., etc.)
    The numbers that follow these letters represent the office of a particular department. For instance, all Bureau of Indian Affairs publications will be given a number beginning with I 20. The numbers after the decimal point represent second and subsequent level offices.
    Numbers immediately following the colon indicate numbered series, volumes or dates (the government documents are the only items in the library that will have : in the call number). Letters and numbers immediately following the colon are based on a system which organizes materials alphabetically by subject.
    In general, documents are shelved in alphabetical and numerical order.
        C 3.24/8: IN 23
        C 3.25: AF 48
        NAS 1.2: FR 76
        NS 5: 100
    This is not a decimal system. Numbers between punctuation are treated as individual whole numbers.
        D 1.2: EX 83
        D 1.16: TO 75
        D 1.23: NA 42
        D 1.23/2: CR 76
        D 1.23/2-3: AL 23
        D 1.23/2-11: LI 45
        D 1.142: LE 78
    Numbers precede letters.
        C 61.12: 89-7
        C 61.12: AM 32


Sudoc number by agency

A

Agriculture/ USDA. This will include the Forest Service, soil surveys, extention service and the Census of Agriculture.

AE
National Archives and Records Administration. The National Archives has the Papers of the Presidents and the Federal Register.

D
The Department of Defense. This section includes the Army, Air Force and Navy. There are also large series of military histories, technical manuals, and reports. Materials from before the establishment of the Department of Defense in 1945 will be under W (War Department) and N (Navy).

E
The Department of Energy.

ED
Education Department

EP
Environmental protection Agency

FA
Fine Arts Commission

FCA
Farm Credit Administration

FHF
Federal Housing Financing Board

FR
Federal Reserve System Board of Governors

FT
Federal Trade Commission

FTZ
Foreign-Trade Zones Board

HE
Health and Human Services Department

HH
Housing and Urban Development Department

HS
Homeland Security, includes ICE, FEMA.

I
Interior Department, includes the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Bureau of Land Management, and the US Geological Survey

IC
Interstate Commerce Commission, includes information on railroads.

ID
US Agency for International Development

ITC
International Trade Commission

M
This is an old catagory for military materials.

NAS
National Aeronautics and Space Administration- we only have a limited collection of physical publications and access to a jarge database of materials.

NC
National Capital Planning Commission

NCU
National Credit Union Administration

NF
National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities

OP
Overseas Private Investment Corporation

RR
Railroad Retirement Board

SI
Smithsonian Institution

VA
Veterans Affairs Department

W
War department. For more recent military publications look under D.