Main Library

Tue7:30 am - 12:00 am
Open

Reference Desk

Tue10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Open

Digital Fabrication Lab

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

NDSU Archives

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Business Learning Center

Tue12:00 pm - 5:00 pm *
Open

Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library

Tue8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open

P. N. Haakenson Health Sciences Library

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health Library

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed
Virtual Reference Desk
Zoom with a Librarian now!
Click here to speak with a librarian - microphone needed.Hours
M-TH 10-8
F 10-5
SUN 1-8

View NDSU Libraries resources and services during COVID-19 interruptions here.

Home Research Guides How to Find Dissertations and Theses

How to Find Dissertations and Theses


Dissertations & Theses from around the World

Use the Dissertations & Theses database to search a collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day. It includes full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. When full text is not provided, you can request a copy via the Interlibrary Loan service.

Accessing the Database

To access the Dissertations & Theses database:

  • Click the dropdown menu above the search box on the library homepage, and select Academic Databases
  • Click Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) listed under Popular Databases
  • Login using your NDSU credentials

 

Search by Topic or Title

Use the Basic Search to find dissertations and theses by topic or title. For example, to find dissertations about Fusarium Head Blight, enter the keywords in the search box and click search. If you already know the title of the document, you can search using the full or partial title in quotation marks.

 

Search by Author, Advisor, University, or Department

Use the Advanced Search to find dissertations and theses by topic, title, author, advisor, university, department, and more.

For example, let’s say you know the topic of the dissertation (fusarium head blight) and the author (Puri) but not the full title or the institution. To search for it:

  • Click Advance Search
  • Type the topic in the first search box and select Anywhere from the dropdown field to the right.
  • Type the author name in the second search box and select Author-AU from the dropdown field to the right.
  • Click the Search button.

Do you want to see dissertations from a specific department at North Dakota State University?

  • Type the department name in the first search box and select Department – DEP from the dropdown to the right
  • Type the university name in the second search box and select University/Institution – SCH from the dropdown to the right
  • Click the Search button

 

Tips for Searching ProQuest Databases


NDSU Theses & Dissertations

You can even search for theses and dissertations written by NDSU students. Three of the best places to find NDSU theses and dissertations, and how to search them, are below.

To access this database:

  1. From the library homepage, click the Quick Links icon in the top right
  2. Click Academic Databases
  3. Click the letter ‘D’
  4. Scroll down to, and click on, Dissertations & Theses & North Dakota State University (ProQuest)
  5. Login using your NDSU username and password

Use the basic or advanced search to search by topic or title.

To search by a specific department:

  1. Click Advanced Search
  2. Type the department name in the search box
  3. Select Department from the dropdown to the right of the search box
  4. Click the Search button

The NDSU Repository provides access to research from NDSU faculty, staff, and students, including theses, dissertations, papers, coursework, and videos. You can go directly to the repository by going to https://library.ndsu.edu/ir/. Or, to access the repository from the library homepage, scroll down to the Collections and Libraries section and click on Institutional Repository.

To Search by Topic or Title

Once in the NDSU Repository, click on Research & Digital Scholarship. You can use the search box on this page to search for theses and dissertations by topic, title, author, or advisor.

To Browse or Search by Department

  1. Once in the NDSU Repository, click on Research & Digital Scholarship
  2. Click on the college or unit in which the department falls
  3. Click on the department
  4. You can browse by issue date (i.e. publication date), author name, title, or subject. Or use the search box to search papers from that department.

Couldn't find the NDSU thesis or dissertation in the Dissertations and Theses databases, the NDSU Repository, or elsewhere online? Check if the library has a print copy. We have print theses and dissertations up to 2011/2012.

  1. Type the title, topic, and/or author in the search box on the library homepage and click the search button.
  2. Locate the Location filter along the right of the results and select Theses--Request Only

Instructions on how to request an item can be found here: https://library.ndsu.edu/how-to-request-item