Main Library

Thu7:30 am - 12:00 am
Open

Reference Desk

Thu10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Open

MakerSpace

Thu12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Open

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Fri8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

NDSU Archives

Fri8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

Business Learning Center

Thu7:45 am - 7:00 pm *
Open

Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library

Thu7:45 am - 7:00 pm
Open

P. N. Haakenson Health Sciences Library

Fri8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health Library

Fri8:00 am - 5:00 pm *
Closed
Home Research Guides Services for Distance Students

Services for Distance Students

Introduction

NDSU Libraries are committed to supporting distance education students with the same level of resources, research support, and access as our on-campus students. See below for information about getting research assistance, how to borrow books and other physical materials from the Libraries, and how to trouble-shoot common access issues, including who to contact if you continue to have questions.
 

We understand that navigating the Libraries' resources and services can feel a bit overwhelming at first. If you would like to meet with a librarian to get an overview we are very happy to help with that. We can easily create a time to meet on the phone, or using Skype. We are also available to meet for specialized research help, such as for literature reviews, theses and dissertations, citation  management and more. Use the link below to submit a request, and it will be directed to the librarian best suited to help you. If you already know who your subject librarian is, feel free to email them and request a meeting. You can also IM us anytime the "Ask a Librarian" chat is open - there will be a real librarian on the other end to help you!

Request a Consultation with a Librarian

Who is my subject librarian?

More research support resources:

The library has many online tutorials that can help you use our resources: https://library.ndsu.edu/tutorials

We offer support for the following citation management tools: Endnote, Mendeley, and Zotero

Subject librarians have developed research guides for most degree programs on campus: https://library.ndsu.edu/guides

The Center for Writers is available to assist both undergraduate and graduate distance students: https://www.ndsu.edu/cfwriters/


Distance education students can use interlibrary loan to request articles and books that the library does not have access to. However - you can ALSO use interlibrary loan to request books and other physical items that the library does have (unlike our campus users). When you make a request for a book, thesis, map or other physical item, note that you are a distance education student and provide your mailing address in the notes section. Interlibrary Loan will mail the item to you with return postage included! Interlibrary loan is free for NDSU students.

To create an account to use interlibrary loan (ILL): https://ndsu.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/logon.html

If you have questions, or encounter problems with your account, please contact interlibrary loan at (701) 231-8885 or at ndsu.library.ill@ndsu.edu

The number one question NDSU librarians answer is "How do I get this...(article, book, document)?" Usually, a student has found an article that is behind a paywall using a search engine, or finds a citation on Google Scholar, ResearchGate or other place and wants to find the full text of it.

Let's start with Google Scholar. You can change the settings in Google Scholar so that links to materials that NDSU has access to will be available. Here are directions for changing your settings: https://library.ndsu.edu/tutorials/setting-your-preferences-google-scholar

NOTE: Sometimes the NDSU links will take you to a citation and abstract with no full text available. When that happens, please use interlibrary loan to request the article.

If you find a citation in a bibliography or online and want to track down whether the Libraries have access to it, or if you want to see if the Libraries has a subscription to a particular journal, follow the directions here: https://library.ndsu.edu/tutorials/how-use-ejournals

Finally, if you still have questions, please contact your subject librarian for assistance.

 

 

Unfortunately, we all occasionally have issues with accessing library resources. Here are some of the most common problems that distance education students encounter:

I can't login to access this database/article.

The login for databases/articles is the same login you use to access Black Board. If you are having problems, please contact the NDSU Helpdesk at https://www.ndsu.edu/its/help_desk/

I can't login to my library account.

The login for your library account is the same login you use for Campus Connection. If you are having problems, please contact the NDUS Helpdesk at https://helpdesk.ndus.edu/

NOTE: These are two different logins and two different Helpdesks! Being logged into a database will NOT log you into your library account, and being logged into your library account will NOT get you into a database.

I can't renew this book. Why do I have library fees?

Please contact the circulation desk at (701) 231-8888 or at ndsu.library@ndsu.edu for questions about your library account

I haven't gotten my interlibrary loan yet. when will my interlibrary loan arrive?

Please contact interlibrary loan with questions about your account at (701) 231-8885 or at ndsu.library.ill@ndsu.edu

 

Last updated: 12/28/2017