Main Library

Thu12:00 am - 12:00 am
Open

Reference Desk

Thu10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Closed

Digital Fabrication Lab

Thu10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Closed

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Thu8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed

NDSU Archives

Thu8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed

Business Learning Center

Thu8:00 am - 6:00 pm *
Closed

Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library

Thu8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Closed

P. N. Haakenson Health Sciences Library

Thu8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed

NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health Library

Thu8:00 am - 5:00 pm *
Closed
Home Research Guides You and Your Government

You and Your Government


Fargo Resources

City of Fargo Ordinances

The current Fargo Municipal Code includes ordinances that were approved by the City Commission (including those which repeal or amend the existing Fargo Municipal Code and those which enact new code provisions).

View the Fargo Municipal Code.

 

Fargo City Commission

The City of Fargo has a commission form of government. The Mayor and four Commissioners are elected at large, meaning that every citizen has an opportunity to vote for each of them. Rather than representing specific areas of the city, as is done in a council form of government, Commissioners represent the entire city.
This site links to meeting schedules, agendas, minutes and contact information.

 

The Office of the Fargo Mayor, Dr. Tim Mahoney

Dr. Tim Mahoney was elected Mayor of Fargo in early 2015. Immediately prior to that election, he served as a Fargo City Commissioner for ten years.


North Dakota Resources

North Dakota Secretary of State

North Dakota Legislature

67th Legislative Assembly (2021-22)

Deadlines and other information.

Find my Legislators
A database for finding your legislator.

Biographies

This page provides links to biographies of individuals who serve or have served in the North Dakota Legislative Assembly, the Dakota Territorial Legislative Assembly, delegates to either of the two North Dakota Constitutional Conventions, or who are or were members of the United States Congress since 1997. Not all legislators who have served and not all biographical information is available as information is still being added to the site.

House Bills, 66th session, 2019

Senate Bills, 66th session, 2019

2019 Session Laws

Session Laws  for the 66th Legislative Assembly are now available.

(Session laws are the bills passed in the last legislature. This is how the bills appear before they are incorporated into the century code)

Constitution of North Dakota

Century Code
The laws of North Dakota.

Legislative Drafting Manual
The Legislative Drafting Manual is the Legislative Council publication that prescribes the form and style of bills and resolutions and provides drafting guidelines.


Federal Resources

Congress

Find Senators and Representative

Directory of Representatives
Also referred to as a congressman or congresswoman, each representative is elected to a two-year term serving the people of a specific congressional district.

Directory of Senators
Senators are elected to six-year terms, and every two years the members of one class--approximately one-third of the senators--face election or reelection.

How to Communicate Effectively with Congress
This selection from AdVanced Consulting's Advocacy Classroom provides expert tips for reaching your Congress member.

Congresional Bills
Congress.gov is a database of bills. Records include full text, amendments, and where the bill is in the legislative process. 

United States Code
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 53 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.

The United States Statutes at Large
Ttypically referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress.

House Legislative Counsel’s Manual on Drafting Style, 1995
Instructions on how to write a bill.

How a Bill becomes a law- poster

Political ads


Executive Office

We the People (White House petition site)


Political Ads-Video

Marsy's Law Crime Victim Rights Amendment, a 2018 Constitutional amendment in Georgia, passed.
Oregon Open Primary, Measure 90 was on the November 4, 2014 ballot in Oregon as an initiated state statute, it was defeated
Alaska Ballot Measure 1, was, on the November 6, 2018 ballot. It was defeated.
The North Dakota Parental Rights Initiative, Measure 6 was on the November 4, 2014 ballot in North Dakota. It was defeated.
Mel Gibson vitamin ad, circa 1994

Peace, Little Girl

One of the most famous campaign ads only aired once- Peace, Little Girl (1964)


Political Ads- Images

Anti-women's suffrage ad1909 ad supportin prohibition

Two ads from 1909

Ads by the Internet Research Agency

Dutt, Ritam, Deb, Ashok, and Ferrara, Emilio. “‘Senator, We Sell Ads’: Analysis of the 2016 Russian Facebook Ads Campaign” (September 26, 2018).