Main Library

Thu7:30 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Reference Desk

Thu10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Closed

Digital Fabrication Lab

Thu12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Closed

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Thu8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

NDSU Archives

Thu8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

Business Learning Center

Thu7:45 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library

Thu7:45 am - 7:00 pm
Closed

P. N. Haakenson Health Sciences Library

Thu8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health Library

Thu8:00 am - 5:00 pm *
Closed

Zotero


Home

Zotero is a free, open-source tool to help you manage citations and pdfs.

It can be downloaded from https://www.zotero.org/download/

To install Zotero, you will first need to download the Zotero program.

You will then need to install the connector for your preferred browser.

You will need to have Zotero running in order to use its features in your chosen browsers.


Adding/Managing References

Adding Sources Found Online

Whenever you are looking at items online, whether that be articles in a database, webpages, or even videos, Zotero attempts to identify citable items on the page. If Zotero is running, you should see an icon in the top right of your browser screen; it may look like any number of things, such as a piece of paper, a folder, a movie reel, or a newspaper.

For example, here's how it looks in Chrome when visiting a normal webpage:

Clicking on this icon will cause Zotero to save a citation to the item you are looking at.

If there are multiple items on the same page, Zotero will ask you to select which ones you want to save:

Either way, clicking this button will save the reference to Zotero. Depending on the source, it may also save associated items such as PDFs or Database pages.

Adding a PDF

You can either click on the green plus sign and choose "Store Copy of File..." to select a pdf you've previously saved, or you can simply drag and drop the pdf onto the Zotero window.

Either way, you can right-click on the pdf in Zotero and select "Retrieve Metadata for PDF" and Zotero will attempt to identify the pdf and fill in the bibliographic information.

Adding/Editing Sources Manually

If you spot an error in a citation or want to enter a document by hand, you can do that directly in Zotero.

If you are creating a new entry, click on the green plus sign and select the type of document from the drop-down menu.

If you are editing an entry (either an existing entry or the one you just created), click on the field you want to change (for example "Author") and correct the information.


Cite & Write

The Zotero plug-ins for MS Word and for LibreOffice allow you to add in-line citations and generate bibliographies in the citation style you need.

After installing the Word plug-in, a Zotero menu should appear in your menu bar.

You will want to make sure Zotero is running in a separate window to make sure Word can access your Zotero library.

Clicking on "Add/Edit Citation" will allow you to search your Zotero library for references, and insert them in your chosen citation style.

You can also "Insert Bibliography" to create a bibliography from all the citations that you have used in that document.

 


Collaborate

Zotero allows you to collaborate with colleagues in either private or public groups, and public groups may be either open or closed in membership.

You can create a group either by selecting "New Group..." under the  menu in Zotero or "Create a New Group" from the groups page.

  • Private groups are visible only to members; new members must be invited to join. The administrator may allow file-sharign within the group.
  • Public groups with closed membership are visible to anyone searching, but membership is invitation-only. The administrator may choose to allow lists of references to be visible as well, but pdfs and other files are restricted to members-only.
  • Public groups with open membership are visible to anyone searching, and can be joined without an invitation. The administrator may allow lists of references to be visible as well, but sharing of pdfs and other files is prohibited.


Help

At NDSU, please contact Beth Twomey for assistance with using Zotero.

More in-depth explanations can be found in the Zotero documentation page: https://www.zotero.org/support/

Last updated: 3/19/2018