NDSU ARCHIVES North Dakota State University Libraries

Manuscript Collections

Finding Aid to the Fargo Typographical Union No. 186 Records

Fargo Typographical Union No. 186 Fargo Typographical Union No. 186 Records, 1915-1941 0.25 linear feet MSS 39

Biography

Scope and Content

Folder List

OVERVIEW

Access: The collection is open under the rules and regulations of the NDSU Archives.

Provenance: Donated by W. E. Allen in 1968 (Acc. 1621).

Property rights: The NDSU Archives owns the property rights to this collection.

Copyrights: Copyrights to this collection is held by the NDSU Archives.

Citation: [Identification of item]. Fargo Typographical Union No. 186 Records (MSS 39), NDSU Archives, North Dakota State University, Fargo.

HISTORY

The International Typographical Union (ITU) was a union for the printing trade. Founded on May 5, 1852 as the National Typographical Union, the Union became international when members from Canada began to join 1869. Augusta Lewis became the first female to be an officer of a union in 1870. The Union dissolved on December 31, 1986, and existing members joined the Communications Workers of America (CWA).

Home

The Fargo Typographical Union No. 186 was founded on July 1, 1880, and was the first labor union in North Dakota. Charter members were William Ballinger, A.S. Capehart, T.A. Cavanaugh, Thomas Gordon, Robert McComb, and George W. Ferb. The Union helped to organize the State Federation of Labor and worked to promote the passage of the Union Label Act, enacted in 1919.

SCOPE AND CONTENT

The **Fargo Typographical Union No. 186 Records** consist of two bound volumes of meeting minutes and a pamphlet of the constitution and by-laws.

FOLDER LIST

Folder Content

- 1/1 Finding aid, and Historical information
- 1/2 Meeting minutes, 1915-1923
- 1/3 Meeting minutes, 1923-1941
- 1/4 Constitution and by-laws, 1920

Copyright 2014 by NDSU Archives North Dakota State University Libraries