Home Research Online Databases
Announcement(s)
  • NDSU Archives is closed until November 27 to install new shelving.  
  • TRIAL: Elsevier's Scopus will be available until Nov 23. The Database includes 20,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences.

Online Databases

All of the online databases are listed in alphabetical order below. Use can also use the menus to search by subject, title or popularity.

Legend:

  • = Only Available to NDSU students, faculty and staff.
  • = Public and Open Access; available to all patrons.
  • = Full text available.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | ALL
Database Description
Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering - 1981-current (ProQuest)

This database contains a comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations and includes US patents back to 1971. 

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text from 1975-present for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.

Access Pharmacy

An online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. This resource is now open to unlimited concurrent users.

ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)

Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.

ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications

Leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences.

ACSESS Digital Library

A complete collection of all content published by the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America.

Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace - 1962-current (ProQuest)

Comprehensive coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices, and space sciences.

Aerospace Database - 1962-current (ProQuest)

This database provides content from AIAA and NASA. Periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the 1960's. Covers applied research in the aerospace and space sciences.

AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics (UMN)

Index with full text to scholarly reports in agricultural and applied economics. Most land grant universities' Agricultural Economics Departments contribute their papers to this database, as well as significant societies and conferences in the field.

Agricola (ProQuest)

AGRICOLA, produced by the National Agricultural Library, is a catalog and index of literature pertaining to all aspects of agriculture. Contains information on journal articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, patents, technical reports, and more. Includes or links to full-text when possible.

Agricultural Science Collection (ProQuest)

Agricultural science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA. AGRICOLA is the definitive bibliographic database to agricultural science literature

AGRIS: International Information System for the Agricultural Sciences and Technology (FAO)

AGRIS is a database containing records on agricultural science and technology. The majority of records are citations from scientific journals.

Alt HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.

Aluminum Industry Abstracts- 1972-current (ProQuest)

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on aluminium/aluminum production processes, products, applications and business developments.

 

America's Historical Newspapers (NewsBank)

Offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.

America: History & Life

This database indexes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Dated back to 1910.

American FactFinder

American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

American West (Adam Matthew Digital)

Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.

Analytical Abstracts (RSC - Royal Society of Chemistry)

Analytical Abstracts (also known as Analytical WebBase) is the premier current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists. Analytical literature covering the period from 1980.

Ancestry - Library Edition (Ancestry.com/ProQuest)

Genealogy, family trees, and family history records online.

Animal Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)

This database is an indispensable resource for scientists in behavioral and related studies. It covers significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.

 

ANTE - Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering (ProQuest)

Comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations and includes US patents back to 1971.

 

AnthroSource (American Anthropological Association)

AnthroSource offers access to more than a century of full-text anthropological knowledge across the discipline.

Approved Methods of Analysis (AACC International)

AACC International, formerly the American Association of Cereal Chemists, was founded in 1915 for the purpose of standardizing methods of analysis among cereal laboratories.

Aquatic Science Collection (ProQuest)

The collection contains aquatic science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA). ASFA is the premier database in the field of aquatic science research.

 

ArchiveGrid (OCLC)

ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world.

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)

Full-text articles—as well as detailed indexing and abstracts— International in scope, Art & Architecture Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience.
 

Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson/EBSCO)

Contemporary art history database provides users with access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative and commercial art dating back to 1913.
 

ArticleFirst (OCLC)

OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals.

 

ArXiv.org

Open access to 953,473 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

ASABE Technical Library (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers)

Full text access to agricultural engineering technical papers and periodicals from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE).

ASM Journals (American Society for Microbiology)

Index to all ASM journals; includes full text for issues published 1995-present.

 

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a standards and technical engineering collection from ASTM International. Subscription includes active, redline, historical, and withdrawn standards.

Atmospheric Science Collection (ProQuest)

The collection contains atmospheric science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). MGA provides access to the atmospheric sciences literature of the world and is the most comprehensive database available in meteorology.

 

Audit Analytics

The Accounting, Finance, and Information Systems Department subscribes to Audit Analytics’ Audit & Compliance solution, which is composed of ten data modules and covers all SEC registrants. Contact Tom Hardy for a login.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCO)

Published by the Getty Research Institute, is the only comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design.
 

Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) (ProQuest)

With topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, the database provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.

Berg Fashion Library

A searchable online encyclopedia that explores all aspects of dress and fashion globally, from pre-history to the present day.

Biological Abstracts - 2001 to 2006 (OVID)

Biological Abstracts encompasses the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world’s published biological and biomedical research. This includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included.

 

Biological Science Collection (ProQuest)

This database offers abstracts and citations to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science monitoring literature from over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and books and patents.

BioOne Abstracts & Indexes (ProQuest)

It provides a unique aggregation of nearly 100 high-impact bioscience research journals from around 70 publishers.

 

BioOne Online Journals (BioOne)

BioOne is a global collaboration of scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to maximize access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

 

BIOSIS Citation Index (Clarivate Analytics)

Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
 

Biotechnology and BioEngineering Abstracts - 1981-current (ProQuest)

Biotechnology & BioEngineering Database provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

 

Biotechnology Research Abstracts (ProQuest)

This database provides research articles on biotechnology (medical, agricultural, and environmental) and bioengineering.

 

Birds of North America Online (Cornell Lab of Ornithology)

BNA Online provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
 

BrowZine (TRIAL)

BrowZine allows you to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface. BrowZine is also availalbe as a mobile app for tablets and smart phones. This trial ends October 31, 2017.

Business Expert Press ebook collection
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)

A full-text database that includes access to journals and business periodicals, economic reports, company profiles, and industry reports.

CAB Abstracts (CAB Direct)

Covers the significant research and development literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. Coverage dates back to 1913.