Main Library

Wed7:30 am - 12:00 am
Open

Reference Desk

Thu10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Closed

Digital Fabrication Lab

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

NDSU Archives

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Business Learning Center

Thu12:00 pm - 5:00 pm *
Closed

Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library

Thu8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed

P. N. Haakenson Health Sciences Library

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health Library

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed
Virtual Reference Desk
Zoom with a Librarian now!
Click here to speak with a librarian - microphone needed.Hours
M-TH 10-8
F 10-5
SUN 1-8

View NDSU Libraries resources and services during COVID-19 interruptions here.

Home Research Databases Online Databases

Online Databases

All of the online databases are listed in alphabetical order below. You can also use the menus to search by subject, title or popularity.

Legend:

  • = Only Available to NDSU students, faculty and staff.
  • = Public and Open Access; available to all patrons.
  • = Full text available.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | ALL
Database Description
Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering - 1981-current (ProQuest)

This database contains a comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations and includes US patents back to 1971. 

Academic OneFile Select (Gale)

Formerly Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale Cengage).

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text from 1975-present for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.

Academic Video Online - AVON (ProQuest/Alexander Street)

Now including 360 VR videos! This database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films,  Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

Access World News (Newsbank)

Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, business, criminal justice, and more. With over 11,000 sources and 25+ ND local sources, this resource contains a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.

Access World News 2020 Edition (Newsbank) - TRIAL

The Access World News 2020 Edition includes everything in the above database, plus:

  • Growing backfile of 181 full-searchable PDF Image Editions from across the U.S.
  • Content from 30 new international countries
  • New diverse media content: video, online publications, trade journals, broadcast transcripts etc.
AccessPharmacy (McGraw-Hill)

An online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. This resource is now open to unlimited concurrent users.

ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)

Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.

ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications

Leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences.

ACSESS Digital Library (New - Now on Wiley)

The new home for all journals, magazines, and books published by the American Society of Agronomy (ASA), Crop Science Society of America (CSSA), and Soil Science Society of America (SSSA). The transfer of content should be completed by April 2020. If you have any trouble accessing content for ASA-CSSA-SSSA publications, try the old platform (link below) or contact Nicole Juve, Agricultural Sciences Librarian, at nicole.km.juve@ndsu.edu.

ACSESS Digital Library (Old platform)

A complete collection of all content published by the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America.

All journal, magazine, and book content from this platform is moving to Wiley Online Library. The Annual Meeting Presentations and Notes content will become free-to-read and will be available on the ASA, CSSA, and SSSA websites. During the transition, content will be available on the old platform until March 31, 2020.

Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace - 1962-current (ProQuest)

Comprehensive coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices, and space sciences.

Aerospace Database - 1962-current (ProQuest)

This database provides content from AIAA and NASA. Periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the 1960's. Covers applied research in the aerospace and space sciences.

Ag Data Commons (USDA)

The Ag Data Commons provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research and related domains such as agronomy, genomics, hydrology, soils, agro-ecosystems, sustainability science, and economic statistics. Data included in the Ag Data Commons is funded in whole or in part by USDA.

AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics (UMN)

Index with full text to scholarly reports in agricultural and applied economics. Most land grant universities' Agricultural Economics Departments contribute their papers to this database, as well as significant societies and conferences in the field.

Agricola (ProQuest)

AGRICOLA, produced by the National Agricultural Library, is a catalog and index of literature pertaining to all aspects of agriculture. Contains information on journal articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, patents, technical reports, and more. Includes or links to full-text when possible.

Agricultural Science Collection (ProQuest)

Agricultural science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA. AGRICOLA is the definitive bibliographic database to agricultural science literature

AGRIS: International Information System for the Agricultural Sciences and Technology (FAO)

AGRIS is a database containing records on agricultural science and technology. The majority of records are citations from scientific journals.

Alt HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.

Aluminum Industry Abstracts- 1972-current (ProQuest)

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on aluminium/aluminum production processes, products, applications and business developments.

America's Historical Newspapers (NewsBank)

Offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.

America: History & Life

This database indexes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Dated back to 1910.

American FactFinder

American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

American West (Adam Matthew Digital)

Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.

Analytical Abstracts (RSC - Royal Society of Chemistry)

Analytical Abstracts (also known as Analytical WebBase) is the premier current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists. Analytical literature covering the period from 1980.

Ancestry - Library Edition (Ancestry.com/ProQuest)

Genealogy, family trees, and family history records online.

Animal Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)

This database is an indispensable resource for scientists in behavioral and related studies. It covers significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.

 

ANTE - Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering (ProQuest)

Comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations and includes US patents back to 1971.

 

AnthroSource (American Anthropological Association)

AnthroSource offers access to more than a century of full-text anthropological knowledge across the discipline.

APA PsycArticles (EBSCO)

Formerly known as PsycArticles. This database offers complete access to the full text of more than 90 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.

APA PsycInfo (EBSCO)

Formerly known as PsycInfo. This is a database of abstracts of literature in the field of psychology and is produced by the American Psychological Association. It is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

Approved Methods of Analysis (AACC International)

AACC International, formerly the American Association of Cereal Chemists, was founded in 1915 for the purpose of standardizing methods of analysis among cereal laboratories.

Aquatic Science Collection (ProQuest)

The collection contains aquatic science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA). ASFA is the premier database in the field of aquatic science research.

 

ArchiveGrid (OCLC)

ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world.

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)

Full-text articles—as well as detailed indexing and abstracts— International in scope, Art & Architecture Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience.
 

Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson/EBSCO)

Contemporary art history database provides users with access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative and commercial art dating back to 1913.
 

Art Song Transpositions

Professionally crafted scores of art songs, arias, and musical theatre titles in any key. Database trial available through Oct. 31, 2020.

ArticleFirst (OCLC)

OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals.

 

Artstor - expanded access through Dec. 31, 2020

A collection of images, documents, audio, and video files contributed by world’s museums, archives, scholars, and artists. Includes a specialized suite of tools for teaching and learning with visual materials — all rights-cleared for education and research. Expanded access through Dec. 31, 2020 includes 3 million images from leading museums, photo  archives, scholars, and artists, including many rare and important collections available nowhere else.

ArXiv.org

Open access to 953,473 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

ASABE Technical Library (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers)

Full text access to agricultural engineering technical papers and periodicals from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE).

ASCE Library

The ASCE Library contains papers from ASCE journals and conference proceedings as well as e-books and standards.

ASM Journals (American Society for Microbiology)

Index to all ASM journals; includes full text for issues published 1995-present.

 

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a standards and technical engineering collection from ASTM International. Subscription includes active, redline, historical, and withdrawn standards.

Atmospheric Science Collection (ProQuest)

The collection contains atmospheric science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). MGA provides access to the atmospheric sciences literature of the world and is the most comprehensive database available in meteorology.

 

Audit Analytics

The Accounting, Finance, and Information Systems Department subscribes to Audit Analytics’ Audit & Compliance solution, which is composed of ten data modules and covers all SEC registrants. Contact Tom Hardy for a login.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCO)

Published by the Getty Research Institute, is the only comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design.