Main Library

Mon7:30 am - 12:00 am
Open

Reference Desk

Mon10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Open

MakerSpace

Mon12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Open

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Tue8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

NDSU Archives

Tue8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

Business Learning Center

Mon7:45 am - 7:00 pm *
Open

Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library

Mon7:45 am - 7:00 pm
Open

P. N. Haakenson Health Sciences Library

Tue8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health Library

Tue8:00 am - 5:00 pm *
Closed
Home Research Databases Online Databases

Online Databases

All of the online databases are listed in alphabetical order below. Use can also use the menus to search by subject, title or popularity.

Legend:

  • = Only Available to NDSU students, faculty and staff.
  • = Public and Open Access; available to all patrons.
  • = Full text available.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | ALL
Database Description
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)

Multidisciplinary database with full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals. Also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an image collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.

Material ConneXion

A database with analyses of over 7,000 materials, including images, detailed material descriptions, usage characteristics, and manufacturer and distributor contact information.

Materials Business File - 1985-current (ProQuest)

Comprehensive coverage of the business and industry aspect of materials science, engineering, aerospace and advanced technologies. Covers news, product and process developments, plant development and construction, international trade data, government regulations and management.

Materials Science Collection (ProQuest)

Contains materials science related full-text articles, access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Materials Research Database.

MathSciNet - Mathematical Reviews on the Web (American Mathematical Society)

An electronic publication offering access to reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year.

Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts - 1966-current (ProQuest)

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in mechanical and transportation engineering and their complementary fields.

MEDLINE (Clarivate Analytics)

The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database.

MEDLINE (EBSCO)

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO)

This database provides a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Contains information essential for complete evaluation of test products in diverse areas such as psychology, education, business, and leadership.

Mergent Archives (Mergent)

The Annual Reports archive provides over 700,000 annual company reports for US and international companies going back to the early 1900s. The Key Business Ratios archive includes industry financial ratios going back to the late 1970s.

Mergent Intellect (Mergent)

Includes private company data on over 100 million companies as well as public company data downloadable to spreadsheets, First Research Industry Reports, D&B Key Business Ratios (industry financial ratios), executive contacts and White Pages Pro, and demographic data from Nielsen.

Mergent Online (Mergent)

An Internet-based suite of information resources enabling in-depth business and financial research.

METADEX - 1966-current (ProQuest)

A comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. Sources include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, and books.

MetaLib (GPO)

Searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.

MICROMEDEX Gateway (Truven Health Analytics)

Provides data on drug ingredients, their effects, and their clinical significance; including dosing, pharmacokinetics, cautions, clinical applications, identification, comparative efficacy, and place in therapy. Special emphasis is placed on drug interactions with a focus on minimizing adverse drug events.

MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO)

Contains information about the journals and book series most likely to publish material related to language and literature. It offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography.

MLA International Bibliography (ESBCO)

Provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.

Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976 (ProQuest)

Provides access to historical information published by the United States federal government. Describing over 1.2 million items published between January 1895 and June 1976.

Music Database (ProQuest)

Idexes and provides full-text for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries dating back to 1874. Subjects covered include music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. Formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals.

Music Index (EBSCO)

Guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry, as well as book reviews, obituaries, and news.

Music Online Premium (Alexander Street Press)

Streaming Database that cross searches all Alexander Street Press music databases including African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music in Video, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.

Music Online: African American Music Reference (Alexander Streets Press)
Music Online: American Music (Alexander Street Press)

The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

Music Online: Classical Music in Video (Alexander Street Press)

The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.

Music Online: Classical Music Library (Alexander Street Press)
Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library (Alexander Street Press)

Classical Music Reference Library brings together a variety of reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form.

Music Online: Classical Scores Library (Alexander Street Press)
Music Online: Contemporary World Music (Alexander Street Press)

The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Music Online: Jazz Music Library
Music Online: Listening (Alexander Street Press)

Music Online: Listening is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content. 

Music Online: Opera in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Music Online: Popular Music Library (Alexander Street Press)

Contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.

Music Online: Reference (Alexander Street Press)
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries (Alexander Street Press)
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (Alexander Street Press)