Main Library

Mon7:30 am - 12:00 am
Open

Reference Desk

Tue10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Closed

Digital Fabrication Lab

Sun12:00 am - 12:15 am
Closed

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Sun12:00 am - 12:15 am
Closed

NDSU Archives

Sun12:00 am - 12:15 am
Closed

Business Learning Center

Tue8:00 am - 4:00 pm *
Closed

Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library

Tue8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed

P. N. Haakenson Health Sciences Library

Sun12:00 am - 12:15 am
Closed

NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health Library

Tue7:30 am - 4:00 pm *
Closed
Virtual Reference Desk
Zoom with a Librarian now!
Click here to speak with a librarian - microphone needed.Hours
M-TH 10-8
F 10-5
SUN 1-8

View NDSU Libraries resources and services during COVID-19 interruptions here.

Home Research Databases Online Databases

Online Databases

All of the online databases are listed in alphabetical order below. You can also use the menus to search by subject, title or popularity.

Legend:

  • = Only Available to NDSU students, faculty and staff.
  • = Public and Open Access; available to all patrons.
  • = Full text available.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | ALL
Database Description
SAGE Premier Online Journals

SAGE Premier is the largest journals package offered by SAGE. It includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 400 scholarly and professional societies.

  • Electronic access to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals (over 900,000 articles)
  • Content ownership of the subscribed content published by SAGE during the term of the agreement
  • Quality new content added to the package annually
  • Complimentary access back to 1999, where available, is included while a current subscription is maintained
    • Note: NDSU also has the 2009 SAGE Backfile, with access back to volume 1, issue 1, up to 1998 for to over 370 journals.
Sanitary Home / North Dakota Farmer and Sanitary Home / North Dakota Farmer (NDSU)

Sanitary Home (later called North Dakota Farmer and Sanitary Home, and North Dakota Farmer) was a monthly periodical published for rural North Dakotans from 1899-1918. It was conceived and edited, and the early issues mostly written by Edwin Fremont Ladd, professor of chemistry at North Dakota Agricultural College, 1890-1916, and president of NDAC 1916-1921.

SciELO Citation Index (Clarivate Analytics)

Access to scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin American, Portugal, Spain and South Africa.

Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) - 1899-present (Clarivate Analytics)

Part of Web of Science®, this database provides access to the bibliographic and citation information needed to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share findings across 150 disciplines.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)

Contains electronic collections of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Offers journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.

SciFinder (CAS)

A research discovery tool for the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.

SciFinder Registration

In order to use SciFinder, please visit the SciFinder Registration page first to create an account for yourself.

SciFinder-n

SciFinder-n provides access to full-text, indexed patents, and millions of step-by-step syntheses indexed specifically by CAS. 

Current SciFinder users may use your current SciFinder username and password to login. Users may also migrate their saved answers and alerts (Keep Me Posted) from SciFinder to SciFinder-n. Click the Bookmark icon to access the migrate feature found on the Saved Answers page. SciFinder answer files exported to an external drive in the .akx file format must be imported and saved to SciFinder before they can be migrated to SciFinder-n.

Note: Descriptions are not migrated and some answers may not fully migrate.

This access expires 12/31/2020.

SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR)

This database uses the H-index and SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) to indicate a journal's influence, and covers a broad range of subjects including sciences, medicine, arts, humanities and the social sciences.

Scopus (Elsevier)

Scopus is a bibliographic database containing abstracts and citations for academic journal articles. It covers nearly 22,000 titles from over 5,000 publishers, of which 20,000 are peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences. 

SHELDUS-Spatial Hazard Events and Losses Database for the US

Create and subsequently log in with a ndsu.edu e-mail address to access this dataset. 
SHELDUS™ is a county-level hazard data set for the U.S. and covers natural hazards such thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, and tornados as well as perils such as flash floods, heavy rainfall, etc. The database contains information on the date of an event, affected location (county and state) and the direct losses caused by the event (property and crop losses, injuries, and fatalities) from 1960 to present.

Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) - 1900-present (Clarivate Analytics)

Accessed via Web of Science®, this database provides access to the bibliographic and citation information needed to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share findings in the social sciences.

Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)

Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles, citations, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Spectrum Archives : 1896-1950 (NDSU)

The Spectrum is the student newspaper of North Dakota State University. This database is full-text searchable.

SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Network)

SPIN is the single solution for researchers and principal investigators who desire to spend less time doing the arduous and labor-intensive steps of searching, but still be presented with ideally-suited and perfectly-matched funding opportunities. It’s comprised of two powerful InfoEd Solutions:

SPIN is the world’s largest database of funding opportunities. SPIN monitors public and private sponsors to ensure that the most current funding opportunity information is always accessible and SPIN’s queries and filters functions allow users to easily find future opportunities.
SPIN Matching And Research Transmittal Service (SMARTS). SMARTS delivers highly-targeted funding opportunities that exactly match pre-defined criteria and research focus.

SPORTDiscus (EBSCO)

Comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness, exercise science and related disciplines. Includes journal articles, dissertations and theses, reference materials and more.

Sustainability Science Abstracts (ProQuest)

This database explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science (Morgan & Claypool Publisher)

A digital library of electronic books that synthesize important research and development topics in engineering and computer science.