Main Library

Fri7:30 am - 5:00 pm
Open

Reference Desk

Fri10:00 am - 5:00 pm *
Open

Digital Fabrication Lab

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

NDSU Archives

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Business Learning Center

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

P. N. Haakenson Health Sciences Library

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health Library

Sun12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed

NDSU Main Library is open, but other NDSU Libraries remain closed.  We will continue to provide services to our students, faculty, and staff. Click here for more information.

Home Research Databases Online Databases

Online Databases

All of the online databases are listed in alphabetical order below. You can also use the menus to search by subject, title or popularity.

Legend:

  • = Only Available to NDSU students, faculty and staff.
  • = Public and Open Access; available to all patrons.
  • = Full text available.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | ALL
Database Description
Record Index (NDSU)

The Record magazine was published in Fargo, N.D. from 1895 to 1905 by Col. C.A. Lounsberry. The magazine’s main focus was historical and biographical articles related to North Dakota, with numerous illustrations of persons, places and events. This index covers issues from 1895 through 1899. The Record is available on microfilm and hard copy at the Institute for Regional Studies Archives Research Room. To order photocopies of articles contact the NDSU Archives.

Regional Business News (EBSCO)

Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications and includes coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO)

Contains over 620,000 music related items including articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.

RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (EBSCO)

Database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950. RIPM currently indexes the contents of 140 music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more.

RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600 (EBSCO)

Comprehensive index and guide to music manuscripts containing more than 657,000 manuscript records by over 22,500 composers found in over 800 libraries and archives in 32 countries.

SAGE Premier Online Journals

SAGE Premier is the largest journals package offered by SAGE. It includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 400 scholarly and professional societies.

  • Electronic access to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals (over 900,000 articles)
  • Content ownership of the subscribed content published by SAGE during the term of the agreement
  • Quality new content added to the package annually
  • Complimentary access back to 1999, where available, is included while a current subscription is maintained
    • Note: NDSU also has the 2009 SAGE Backfile, with access back to volume 1, issue 1, up to 1998 for to over 370 journals.
Sanitary Home / North Dakota Farmer and Sanitary Home / North Dakota Farmer (NDSU)

Sanitary Home (later called North Dakota Farmer and Sanitary Home, and North Dakota Farmer) was a monthly periodical published for rural North Dakotans from 1899-1918. It was conceived and edited, and the early issues mostly written by Edwin Fremont Ladd, professor of chemistry at North Dakota Agricultural College, 1890-1916, and president of NDAC 1916-1921.

SciELO Citation Index (Clarivate Analytics)

Access to scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin American, Portugal, Spain and South Africa.

Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) - 1899-present (Clarivate Analytics)

Part of Web of Science®, this database provides access to the bibliographic and citation information needed to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share findings across 150 disciplines.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)

Contains electronic collections of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Offers journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.

SciFinder (CAS)

A research discovery tool for the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.

SciFinder Registration

In order to use SciFinder, please visit the SciFinder Registration page first to create an account for yourself.

SciFinder-n

SciFinder-n provides access to full-text, indexed patents, and millions of step-by-step syntheses indexed specifically by CAS. 

Current SciFinder users may use your current SciFinder username and password to login. Users may also migrate their saved answers and alerts (Keep Me Posted) from SciFinder to SciFinder-n. Click the Bookmark icon to access the migrate feature found on the Saved Answers page. SciFinder answer files exported to an external drive in the .akx file format must be imported and saved to SciFinder before they can be migrated to SciFinder-n.

Note: Descriptions are not migrated and some answers may not fully migrate.

This access expires 12/31/2020.

SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR)

This database uses the H-index and SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) to indicate a journal's influence, and covers a broad range of subjects including sciences, medicine, arts, humanities and the social sciences.

SciTech Collection (ProQuest)

This resource combines full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more.

Scopus (Elsevier)

Scopus is a bibliographic database containing abstracts and citations for academic journal articles. It covers nearly 22,000 titles from over 5,000 publishers, of which 20,000 are peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences. 

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries (Alexander Street Press)

Streaming music database offers music from around the world. Genres include folk, bluegrass, blues, Cajun/Zydeco, Caribbean, Latin, reggae and more.

Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) - 1900-present (Clarivate Analytics)

Accessed via Web of Science®, this database provides access to the bibliographic and citation information needed to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share findings in the social sciences.

Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)

Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles, citations, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts - 1981-current (ProQuest)

Comprehensive index to world literature on all aspects of theory, production and application of solid state materials and devices including the new high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology.

Spectrum Archives : 1896-1950 (NDSU)

The Spectrum is the student newspaper of North Dakota State University. This database is full-text searchable.

SPORTDiscus (EBSCO)

Comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness, exercise science and related disciplines. Includes journal articles, dissertations and theses, reference materials and more.

Student Resources in Context (Gale Cengage)

Provides a wide array of resources on most general subjects. Contains full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and reference materials.

Sustainability Science Abstracts (ProQuest)

This database explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science (Morgan & Claypool Publisher)

A digital library of electronic books that synthesize important research and development topics in engineering and computer science.

Taylor & Francis Online (Taylor & Francis)

The online platform for Taylor & Francis Group content.

Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)

Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Technology Research Database

A database that describes the properties and chemicals of materials and fabrics.

Theses & Dissertations (ProQuest)

This database is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Theses & Dissertations @ North Dakota State University (ProQuest)

This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at NDSU.

Thomas J. Hoffman Collection (NDSU-GRHC)

Contains genealogy research from Thomas J. Hoffman’s private collection consisting of marriage, births and death records of Catholic German families from South Russia and North America. Provided by NDSU Libraries Germans from Russia Heritage Collection.

TOXLINE (ProQuest)

Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.

TOXNET

TOXNET® (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a group of databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology. It is managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) in the Division of Specialized Information Services (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History (Adam Matthew Digital)

Includes hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Primary sources cover a variety of topics including: architecture, art, the British Empire,customs, exploration, family life, war and more

Treesearch (USDA)

Treesearch is an online system for sharing free, full text publications by Research and Development scientists in the US Forest Service. Included in Treesearch are scholarly works published by the agency as well as those published by others, including papers appearing in journals, conference proceedings, or books. All publications appearing in Treesearch are based on peer reviewed research to make sure they provide the best scientific information possible.

TRID - Transport Research International Documentation (TRB)

Database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.

Turfgrass Information File - TGIF (USGA & Turfgrass Information Center)

From the Turf Grass center, this resource indexes popular, professional, trade, and research periodicals, as well as new books, technical reports, special bulletins, theses and dissertations, fact sheets, and more. Includes selected full text. Limit of 5 simulataneous users.

TutorND (Tutor.com)

Offers FREE online tutoring and academic resources from Tutor.com for North Dakota residents. Get live help from a tutor in major subjects like math, science, social studies, and English. Can be accessed from any North Dakota library or from your home computer.

U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) - COMING SOON!

Formerly ProQuest Newsstand. A full-text newspaper database that includes access to national and leading regional papers such as the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Barron's, Boston Globe, Guardian, Christian Science Monitor, and Washington Post.

UN Comtrade

Offers over 50 years of data for more than 6000 products and 200 countries on merchandise trade. Contact the reference desk (701) 231-8886 or the Business Learning Center (701) 231-8189 to receive the login credentials for this resource.

USWBSI Database

Database of information related to the U.S. Wheat and Barley Scab Initiative (USWBSI) such as projects, institutions, grants, documents, and contacts.

Washington Evening Star 1852-1981 (Readex)

Provides a searchable facsimile of every page of every issue of the Star from its founding on December 16, 1852 to the day it ceased publishing on August 7, 1981.

Web of Science: All Databases (Clarivate Analytics)

This is a collection of databases providing information about research in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Find information on scholarly literature (such as journal articles, conference proceedings), research data, patents, and taxonomy, classification, and relationships of organisms. Databases included are: Web of Science – Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record. Each of these can also be searched separately.

Web of Science: Core Collection (Clarivate Analytics)

Current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900. Content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings.

Wiley Online Library

Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes articles, online books, reference materials, laboratory protocols and more.

World Bank Open Data (World Bank)

Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe. Searchable by country, topic, and various indicators.

WorldCat (OCLC)

Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages.

WorldCat Dissertations & Theses (OCLC)

All dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members, including all subjects.

Zoological Record (Clarivate Analytics)

A taxonomic reference and database of animal biology. Backfiles available to 1864.