Home Research Databases History

History

America: History & Life

This database indexes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Dated back to 1910.

Cambridge Companions Online (Cambridge University Press)

Detailed guides to authors, composers, philosophers, genres, various literatures and other fields of study, providing context and analysis for a thorough introduction. Includes Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics, Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture and Companions in Music.

Early American Imprints Series I: Evans 1639-1800 (NewsBank)

Contains books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America during the 17th and 18th centuries.

Early American Imprints Series I: Supplemement Library Company of Philadelphia 1670-1800 (NewsBank)

More than 2,000 scarce items including a broad range of books, pamphlets and broadsides printed during a 150-year period and newly discovered printed materials spanning the early colonial era and the Early Republic.

Early American Imprints Series I: Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society 1652-1800 (NewsBank)

A major expansion of the definitive resource on America before 1819 including 2,250 early books, pamphlets, broadsides, maps and scores.

Early American Newspapers (NewsBank)

Includes Early American Newspapers Series 1 and 2, 1690-1900 and Selected Historical Newspapers

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)

Representing scholarship from more than 90 countries, the database includes book citations, dissertations and theses, and coverage extends to related disciplines such as archeology, anthropology and sociology.

JSTOR - Journal Storage (ITHAKA)

JSTOR includes academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

NDSU subscribes to the following archival journal collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VII, and VIII as well as the Life Sciences collection. For more information on collection subject coverage and title lists, please visit http://about.jstor.org/journals.

Project MUSE (Johns Hopkins University Press)

Provides digital humanities and social sciences content in full text, as well as, subscription access to current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Washington Evening Star 1852-1981 (Readex)

Provides a searchable facsimile of every page of every issue of the Star from its founding on December 16, 1852 to the day it ceased publishing on August 7, 1981.

Related Research Guides

Other Subjects


Subject Librarian

Humanities Librarian
Main Library 218D
701-231-8394