Home Research Databases Music
Announcement(s)
  • NDSU Archives is closed until November 27 to install new shelving.  
  • TRIAL: Elsevier's Scopus will be available until Nov 23. The Database includes 20,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences.

Music

Grove Music Online (Oxford)

Encyclopedia articles from The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians and others, including The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Includes sound examples. This resource is limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Music Database (ProQuest)

Idexes and provides full-text for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries dating back to 1874. Subjects covered include music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. Formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals.

Music Index (EBSCO)

Guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry, as well as book reviews, obituaries, and news.

Music Online Premium (Alexander Street Press)

Streaming Database that cross searches all Alexander Street Press music databases including African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music in Video, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.

Music Online: American Music (Alexander Street Press)

The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

Music Online: Classical Music in Video (Alexander Street Press)

The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.

Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library (Alexander Street Press)

Classical Music Reference Library brings together a variety of reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form.

Music Online: Contemporary World Music (Alexander Street Press)

The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Music Online: Listening (Alexander Street Press)

Music Online: Listening is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content. 

Music Online: Popular Music Library (Alexander Street Press)

Contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.

Open Music Library (Alexander Street Press)

Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO)

Contains over 620,000 music related items including articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.

RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (EBSCO)

Database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950. RIPM currently indexes the contents of 140 music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more.

RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600 (EBSCO)

Comprehensive index and guide to music manuscripts containing more than 657,000 manuscript records by over 22,500 composers found in over 800 libraries and archives in 32 countries.

Related Research Guides

Other Subjects


Subject Librarian

Humanities Librarian
Main Library 218D
701-231-8394