Main Library

Mon7:30 am - 12:00 am
Open

Reference Desk

Mon10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Open

MakerSpace

Mon12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Open

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Tue8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

NDSU Archives

Tue8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

Business Learning Center

Mon7:45 am - 7:00 pm *
Open

Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library

Mon7:45 am - 7:00 pm
Open

P. N. Haakenson Health Sciences Library

Tue8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed

NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health Library

Tue8:00 am - 5:00 pm *
Closed
Home Research Databases Public Access

Public Access

A list of open access journals along with NDSU and regional resources that are provided for free.  

Cass County, N.D. Divorce and Civil Cases Index (NDSU)

Searchable index to over 3,300 cases handled in Cass County District Court. Index developed by the NDSU Institute for Regional Studies; copies of the full text are available from the Institute for a fee.

Cass County, N.D. Marriage License Index (NDSU)

Index to marriage licenses recorded in Cass County, N.D. between circa 1872 and July 1944. Original licenses are available from the NDSU Institute for Regional Studies for a fee.

Cass County, N.D. Probate Records (NDSU)

Index to over 5,900 individual Cass County Probate Court case files from 1876 to about 1949. Provided by the NDSU Institute for Regional Studies. Full text is available from the Institute for a fee.

Catalog of Government Publications (CGP)

Includes federal publications published from 1976 to the present and provides direct links to those that are available online.

ClinicalTrials.gov

Web-based resource that provides easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions.

Collective Bibliography of North Dakota Geology (NDSU)

Index to journal articles about North Dakota geology published from the early 1800's-2002. Provided by NDSU Libraries in Collaboration with the North Dakota Geological Survey.

Council for Agricultural Science and Technology (CAST)

CAST assembles, interprets, and communicates credible science-based information regionally, nationally, and internationally to legislators, regulators, policymakers, the media, the private sector, and the public.

CRIS - Current Research Information System (USDA)

This database provides documentation and reporting for agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, and extension activities for the US Department of Agriculture; has a focus on National Institute of Food and Agriculture grant programs.

Dakota Territory 1885 Census Index (NDSU)

The NDSU Institute for Regional Studies headed a statewide cooperative project to index the entire original Dakota Territory 1885 Census schedules for the counties that today form North Dakota.

Digital Horizons (Concordia, NDSU, SHSND, Prairie Public)

Digital Horizons is an online treasure house of thousands of images, documents, video, and oral histories depicting life on the Northern Plains from the late 1800s to today.

Digital Public Library of America

The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books

857 Academic peer-reviewed books from 27 publishers.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.

e-Answers (ADEC, ACE, CSREES-USDA)

Extension Service publications from U.S. Land Grant universities. A publically available searchable database with links to full text. Covers a broad spectrum of agricultural topics.

Fargo Forum Newspaper Index, 1879-1995 (NDSU)

The Fargo Forum Newspaper Index database provides citations (currently about 8,000 entries) to selected articles published in a number of Fargo newspapers between 1879 and 1975, primarily the Fargo Forum, regarding events in North Dakota and to a limited extent in other states. The database is the work of the NDSU Institute for Regional Studies and indexing continues although on a very limited basis.

Fargo Forum Obituary Index (NDSU)

The indexing of Fargo Forum newspaper obituaries is an ongoing project of the NDSU Institute for Regional Studies. The time period completed includes from October 1892 to 1909 and from November 1982 to 1995. In addition partial indexing has been done for other years. The database currently contains over 70,000 names.

FDsys: Federal Digital System (GPO)

GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

FedStats (Federal Government)

FedStats provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capabilities to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information.

Google Scholar (Google)

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Here is a tutorial which explains how to set your preferences in Google Scholar: http://library.ndsu.edu/setting-your-preferences-google-scholar

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)

The Homeland Security Digital Library is composed of homeland security related documents collected from a wide variety of sources.

IMF’s Statistical Databases

Includes international and government financial statistics as well as balance of payment and trade statistics. Time series data for more than 194 countries, including commodity prices, exchange rates, exports and imports, and population.

International Code Council Online Library

View the International and State Adopted Building Codes.

Lawrence Welk Music Arrangements Index (NDSU)

Provides access to some 10,000 original arrangements used by the Welk Orchestra and individual performers spanning from the 1950s to 1980s. The data is from a card file developed by the Welk staff that came as part of the donation of the Welk Collection to North Dakota State University in 1993.

MetaLib (GPO)

Searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.

NASS - National Agricultural Statistics Service Quick Stats 2.0 (USDA)

Quick Stats 2.0 is the most comprehensive tool for accessing agricultural data published by NASS. It allows you to discover exactly the information you desire, whether it is based on commodity, location, or time period. You can then visualize the data on a map, manipulate and export the results, or save a link for future use.

NASS - National Agricultural Statistics Service Statistics by Subjects (USDA)

Obtain an agricultural statistics profile for a particular subject area or commodity. Data is currently available in the following areas: crops and plants, livestock and animals, and economics.

National Technical Reports Library (U.S. Department of Commerce)

Worldwide searching for federally funded bibliographic science and technology research information is now free on the basic Public Access NTRL website.  The Public Access NTRL is open to all users (domestic and international) for search and discovery.  To further enhance your search results with the full-text document, you must register and accept the "Terms and Conditions of Use" of NTRL.

National Transportation Statistics

"Statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security."

NIH RePORTER (National Institutes of Health Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools Expenditures and Results)

A searchable repository of NIH-funded research projects and access publications and patents resulting from NIH funding.

North Dakota Biography Index (NDSU)

An ongoing project of the NDSU Institute for Regional Studies provides access to biographical sketches found in a wide variety of North Dakota publications. Currently contains some 250,000 names from published biographical sketches of North Dakotans. Names continue to be added on a regular basis. Consult the Institute's information page for the scope and content of the records and for ordering copies.

North Dakota Naturalization Records Index (NDSU)

Compiled at the State Historical Society of North Dakota, where all original county naturalization records are preserved and have been microfilmed. In cooperation with the NDSU Institute for Regional Studies, the index is made available as a searchable database.

Official Methods of Analysis (AOAC)

Publishes standardized, chemical analysis methods designed to increase confidence in results of chemical and microbiologic analyses.

Pivot (ProQuest)

Provides tools for discovering funding opportunities and supporting collaboration in the research development field, it combines the funding database of over 25,000 opportunities with a database of over 3 million researcher expertise profiles.

PROL - Political Research Online (ASPA)

A repository of papers delivered at professional conferences which contains emerging political science scholarship.

PubAg (USDA/National Agricultural Library)

PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch it delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and citations to an additional 340,000 articles. The initial release also previews its directions for intended functionality and will serve as the foundation for further enhancements.

PubMed

Contains over 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Record Index (NDSU)

The Record magazine was published in Fargo, N.D. from 1895 to 1905 by Col. C.A. Lounsberry. The magazine’s main focus was historical and biographical articles related to North Dakota, with numerous illustrations of persons, places and events. This index covers issues from 1895 through 1899. The Record is available on microfilm and hard copy at the Institute for Regional Studies Archives Research Room. To order photocopies of articles contact the NDSU Archives.

Sanitary Home / North Dakota Farmer and Sanitary Home / North Dakota Farmer (NDSU)

Sanitary Home (later called North Dakota Farmer and Sanitary Home, and North Dakota Farmer) was a monthly periodical published for rural North Dakotans from 1899-1918. It was conceived and edited, and the early issues mostly written by Edwin Fremont Ladd, professor of chemistry at North Dakota Agricultural College, 1890-1916, and president of NDAC 1916-1921.

SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR)

This database uses the H-index and SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) to indicate a journal's influence, and covers a broad range of subjects including sciences, medicine, arts, humanities and the social sciences.

Spectrum Archives : 1896-1950 (NDSU)

The Spectrum is the student newspaper of North Dakota State University. This database is full-text searchable.

Thomas J. Hoffman Collection (NDSU-GRHC)

Contains genealogy research from Thomas J. Hoffman’s private collection consisting of marriage, births and death records of Catholic German families from South Russia and North America. Provided by NDSU Libraries Germans from Russia Heritage Collection.

TRID - Transport Research International Documentation (TRB)

Database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.

USWBSI Database

Database of information related to the U.S. Wheat and Barley Scab Initiative (USWBSI) such as projects, institutions, grants, documents, and contacts.

World Bank Open Data (World Bank)

Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe. Searchable by country, topic, and various indicators.

Other Subjects