NDSU

Libraries —Institute for Regional Studies & University Archives

North Dakota State University
Fargo, N.D.

Institute for Regional Studies & University Archives header image

Fargo Forum Newpaper Index, 1879-1975

<!–[if gte mso 9]> Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE <![endif]–><!–[if gte mso 9]> <![endif]–>

This database provides citations to articles published in a number of Fargo newspapers, but currently primarily for the Fargo Forum, regarding events in North Dakota and to a limited extent in other states. Other Fargo newspapers represented in this database include the Argus (predecessor to the Fargo Forum which began publication in 1879), the Fargo Daily Courier-News (a competitor of the Fargo Forum in the 1910s and 1920s until purchased by the Fargo Forum in 1924), and the only issue published of the Cass and Clay County Review. The latter was published in December 1892 and contains articles on businesses in Fargo, N.D. and Moorhead, Minn. as well as surrounding communities.

A number of special editions of the Fargo Forum are included in this database. Among them are the 1907 Industrial edition, 1935 Fargo 60th anniversary issue, 1938 Fargo Forum’s 60th anniversary, 1950 Fargo Diamond Jubilee edition, 1953 Oil edition, and the 1957 Fargo tornado editions.

Entry format and topical headings follow closely those used for the entries in the 1976-1995 index. Bracketed titles indicate no actual title. Note is made of various accompanying illustrations, including photographs, maps, engravings, and cartoons. Occasionally an informative advertisement has been indexed and is so identified in brackets. The subdivision –North Dakota generally has not been included in the topical heading, but rather is implied. The proper subdivision for other states and provinces is used.

Entries for businesses which are a personal name have been inverted to file by the surname. This was done because the name given in the article may not be the complete or the correct name of the business. Also, there are extensive subdivisions under Fargo, N.D., Moorhead, Minn., North Dakota Agricultural College, and North Dakota State University due to the large number of entries.

The user of this database should be aware that for some articles the exact edition of the Fargo Forum could not be determined, and thus the exact edition is not reflected in the citation. Because of the anomalies in the way the Fargo Forum was microfilmed, it is important that the full name of the newspaper be used. The Fargo Forum and Daily Republican was the evening edition and does not include the Sunday issue. The Fargo Forum and Daily Tribune was the morning edition (began in 1925) and does not include a Monday issue. The complete title appears only on the front page masthead of the newspaper. The two editions were microfilmed separately.

The Institute for Regional Studies has both editions on microfilm through 1953.