wheat in front of pink sunset
Updated May 12, 2022

As we wrap up academic year 2021-22, we’d like to highlight some NDSU Libraries staff members for their accomplishments, and reiterate sincere compliments to all who have been previously recognized for their achievements this past year. Please join us in congratulating them!

Years of Service

At their 34th Annual Employee Recognition Social, the Office of Human Resources acknowledged six of our colleagues for reaching work anniversaries. We are so glad to have them with us and thank them for their dedication – some for over five decades!

Honorees include:

  • Michael Miller, Director and Bibliographer, GRHC • 55 years
  • Clarice Hackman, Cataloging Associate • 50 years
  • Emily Hoadley, College Business Manager • 10 years
  • Nicole Juve, Agricultural Sciences Librarian • 10 years
  • Jeremy Kopp, Outreach & Operations Coordinator, GRHC • 10 years
  • Catherine Kratochvil, Head of Access Services • 5 years


  • Libraries staff members secured funding from the Student Technology Fee Advisory Committee as part of their next Action Plan to create a podcasting and multimedia studio in the Main Library. Staff involved include: Hallie Pritchett, Interim Dean of Libraries; Mitch Axness, Systems Support Specialist; Adam Elznic, Emerging Technologies Services Coordinator; Amy Reese, Head of Systems and Digital Strategies; and Bob Tolliver, Sciences Librarian. More information to come.
  • Beth Twomey, Head of Research and Instruction, received a NDSU Foundation grant from the Library Endowment Fund to purchase books and materials to support the Data Visualization Lab.
  • Lisa Eggebraaten, Research and Access Librarian, Klai Juba Wald Architectural Studies Library and Business Learning Center, received a NDSU Foundation grant from the Centennial Endowment Fund to create a traveling exhibit honoring the life and work of Denby Deegan, Surrounded by Enemy. Deegan was the first Native American to graduate from the NDSU School of Architecture. The project will be an expansion of the exhibit held this academic year.


  • Susanne Caro, Government and Information Librarian, has been named to the Depository Library Council, which advises the Superintendent of Documents and the Director of the U.S. Government Publishing Office on matters related to the Federal Depository Library Program. Appointments to the DLC are amongst the highest honors for government information librarians. Susanne will be the first Council member from North Dakota, with her 3-year term starting June 1, 2022. See more at NDSU News.
  • Jenny Grasto, Head of Resource Acquisition, Management, and Discovery, was re-elected as the chair of the ODIN (Online Dakota Information Network) Academic Libraries Acquisitions/Serials User Group.
  • Tina Gross, Metadata and Cataloging Librarian, was appointed to the editorial board of the journal Cataloging & Classification Quarterly. She was also elected as chair of the ODIN Academic Libraries Cataloging User Group.
  • Nicole Juve, Agricultural Sciences Librarian, will be serving as Co-Lead of the Collections and Content Action Group of The Rangelands Partnership (2022-2023).
  • Michael Miller, Director and Bibliographer, GRHC, serves on the Welk Homestead Historic Site Prairie Public Documentary Committee. Along with Jeremy Kopp, Outreach & Operations Coordinator, GRHC, they were successful in securing complete funding for the documentary from a private donor. The 30-minute documentary is projected to be completed by Fall 2024. Michael was also re-elected to serve as Historian, Tri-County Tourism Alliance, and President, Friends of the Welk Homestead.
  • Hallie Pritchett, Interim Dean of Libraries, was elected to represent the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) for a 3-year term on the ALA Council, which is the governing body of the American Library Association. She was also appointed vice chair of the Association of College and Research Libraries’ Government Relations Committee. Both appointments start July 1, 2022.
  • Matt Tallant, Processing Archivist, was appointed to the Minitex Digital Collections Planning Committee for their annual conference.